Mississauga Transitway ready to roll

The last station of the Mississauga Transitway officially opened in December. The 12-station, 18-km dedicated bus corridor allows passengers to travel east to west across Mississauga in 30 minutes. Commuters now have access to MiWay, GO Transit and Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) buses at Renforth station.

“The completion of the Mississauga Transitway shows that Mississauga is a city committed to building transit and investing in our future,” said Mayor Bonnie Crombie. “We worked together with our partners at the federal and provincial levels of government on this important transit project to ensure that our current and future transit initiatives are integrated into the regional network.”

“The transitway was part of our Official Plan and the first rapid transit project for the City of Mississauga involving all city departments,” said Janice Baker, city manager and CAO. “It is an example of an efficient, affordable and accessible transit option for the city. Through strategic investments in transit, the city is focused on modernizing the system. The completion of the Mississauga Transitway allows commuters to move reliably across Mississauga and eases congestion. It also prepares the city for the projected population increase and once the Hurontario Light Rail Transit Project is constructed, many residents will be within two kilometres of rapid transit.”

“MiWay ridership numbers have steadily increased since the opening of the transitway in 2014,” said Geoff Wright, transportation and works commissioner. “Ridership is currently at 4.2 million annually, steadily climbing to the projected estimate of five million riders annually. Commuters will save approximately ten minutes by travelling on the transitway instead of by car. The transitway will help to transition commuters from individual vehicles to an efficient bus system with a dedicated corridor.”

The Mississauga Transitway opened the first four Mississauga-constructed stations, Central Parkway, Cawthra, Tomken and Dixie in November 2014. The Square One bus terminal was opened in 2016. The other Mississauga-constructed stations, Tahoe, Etobicoke Creek, Spectrum and Orbitor, opened in 2017. The Metrolinx-constructed stations include Winston Churchill, Erin Mills Parkway and Renforth.

The transitway is a key component of Ontario’s Smart Growth program for development of the Greater Toronto Area and connects to a 100-kilometre wide initiative that will create a dedicated bus corridor from Oakville to Pickering.

For more information, visit: miway.ca/transitway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This