Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee appoints two new members

Lanny McDonald, Hockey Hall of Fame board chairman, announced the appointment of two new members to the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee commencing with the 2019 nomination and election proceedings. The appointments were confirmed at the directors’ meeting held Nov. 13.

Cassie Campbell-Pascall and Mark Chipman will join the eighteen-member Selection Committee, replacing Eric Duhatschek who served his full term limit of 15 years, and Bill Torrey who served since 2007 until his passing on May 2.

Presently a television commentator with Hockey Night in Canada, Campbell-Pascall’s hockey resume includes captain of the Canadian women’s gold medal-winning teams at each of the 2002 and 2006 Winter Olympic Games. She was born in Richmond Hill and raised in Brampton, where she attended North Park Secondary School. The Cassie Campbell Community Centre, at Brampton, is named in her honour. She also played hockey, locally, with the Mississauga Chiefs and Toronto Aeros.

Chipman is best known as the executive chairman of True North Sports and Entertainment, which owns the Winnipeg Jets of the National Hockey League.

“I am very pleased and honoured to welcome Cassie and Mark to the Selection Committee, both of whom are highly knowledgeable and well-known for their active roles in the game of hockey that will complement the committee’s deliberations in recognition of excellence,” said McDonald.

The Selection Committee will meet on June 24 and 25, 2019 to consider nominated candidates for election into Hall of Fame membership. The announcement of the new inductees will be made on June 25, 2019 and the annual induction celebration will be held on November 18, 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This