Dear Evan Hansen at the Royal Alexandra Theatre

Dear Evan Hansen producers Stacey Mindich and David Mirvish have completed casting for the Canadian production of the multi-Tony Award-winning musical.

Jessica Sherman, seasoned Toronto actor and singer who has worked extensively in the U.K. will play Heidi Hansen; Charlottetown and Stratford Festivals favourite, Claire Rankin will play Cynthia Murphy; and Stratford and Shaw Festival actor Evan Buliung, recent Dora Award winner for The Musical Stage Company/Mirvish Productions’ Fun Home, will play Larry Murphy.

Sean Patrick Dolan (CBC/Netflix Schitt’s Creek, The Detectives, Workin’ Moms) and Canadian country music singer/songwriter Stephanie La Rochelle (CBC’s Heartland, Over The Rainbow) round out the Murphy family as Connor and Zoe, respectively. Completing the on-stage company, Alessandro Costantini (Segal Centre’s Prom Queen) is Jared Kleinman and Shakura Dickson (Outside The March/Crow’s Jerusalem) is Alana Beck. They join the previously announced Robert Markus in the title role.

The cast also includes Zachary Noah Piser as the Evan alternate along with understudies Erin Breen, Malinda Carroll, Jay Davis, David Jeffery, Laura Mae Nason and Kaitlyn Santa Juana.

“It is with great joy and pride that we announce the cast of the Canadian production of Dear Evan Hansen, which also happens to be the first international production of our show,” says lead producer Stacey Mindich. “We conducted extensive auditions throughout Canada over an eight-month period to find the perfect actors to embody Dear Evan Hansen’s authentic characters and I am confident that we’ve assembled an amazing and talented group of artists, almost all of whom are Canadian. In fact, almost every province is represented in our cast. This is a very important and exciting chapter in the life of Dear Evan Hansen.”

Dear Evan Hansen tickets are on sale through June 30. Performances begin March 5 at Toronto’s historic Royal Alexandra Theatre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This